Ballpark Reviews

  • Tuesday, January 1, 2013 | Baseball Parks
    Johnny Appleseed Would Be Proud
    Sure, you'll also find hot dogs, hamburgers, kids meals, Mexican and the like here, but one category that you typically don't find at ballparks is healthy fare. The TinCaps might lead the league in this stat, as Parkview Health System, which purchased the naming rights for the ballpark, had great influence over what's on the menu. Here you'll find Caesar Salad wraps, vegetarian burgers, salads and grilled chicken.
  • Sunday, January 1, 2012 | Stadium Journey
    Ballpark Bliss at Parkview Field
    This remains one of my favorite sports venues to visit, and is at the top of my minor league baseball parks. The Tincaps have captured all of the essential elements of a great experience. They have good food, great atmosphere, friendly staff, comfortable seating, a happening location, and easy access. Best of all, they do it for a very reasonable price.
  • Monday, August 22, 2011 | KCRG
    Fort Wayne TinCaps
    The apple theme is everywhere at Parkview Field. They sell caramel apples, the apple logo is on the end of every aisle of seats, the exterior of "The Orchard" souvenir shop has a floor-to-ceiling-logo. It's all very well orchestrated and carries the theme throughout the park.
  • Wednesday, August 17, 2011 | Birmingham News
    Birmingham's Proposed Ballpark Draws Inspiration from Fort Wayne
    Planners of a new baseball park in Birmingham hope to model the look and copy the success of a park in Fort Wayne, Ind., which is touted as a catalyst for development in that city's downtown. City officials and developers looked primarily at three stadiums -- in Akron, Ohio, Fort Wayne and Montgomery -- and called Fort Wayne's Parkview Field the most desirable model for Birmingham.
  • Tuesday, July 26, 2011 | Journal Gazette
    Parkview Field Wows MLB Great
    "If they had a stadium this nice when I was in the minor leagues, I wouldn't have been in a hurry to make it to the majors," Dave Parker said. "It's a beautiful facility."
  • Monday, July 25, 2011 | The Midwest League Traveler
    Fort Wayne's Parkview Field
    In my opinion, the coolest thing we got to see was a behind-the-scenes look at how the various camera shots are monitored and chosen for television broadcasts. Despite being a Class A team, the TinCaps have every home game broadcast on television.
  • Tuesday, June 28, 2011 | New York Times
    An Indiana Town Tries to Lure Renters With Ballbark Views
    The comfortable, retro-looking ballpark, built with Indiana sandstone and red brick, can be expanded to accommodate up to 8,000 people. In addition to concerts it is the site of N.C.A.A. Division I baseball and soccer games and local events like walk-a-thons and family movie nights using the Jumbotron.
  • Friday, June 17, 2011 | MiLB.com
    A Hill at Fort Wayne's Parkview Field
    Over the course of five hours and 14 innings, the team's indomitable front office had me participate in a seemingly endless cornucopia of ballpark activities.
  • Thursday, June 16, 2011 | MiLB.com
    TinCaps Offer Food at Every Angle
    The items detailed above still represent just the tip of the proverbial iceberg when it comes to what was on offer, but my stomach just couldn't take anymore. Clearly, the days of ballpark food consisting of a boiled hot dog and stale popcorn have long since passed.
  • Thursday, June 16, 2011 | Ben's Biz Blog
    Getting the Lay of the Land in Fort Wayne
    I didn't hear the TinCaps make any specific claims about the unprecedented size of their scoreboard, but nonetheless this is a big one. In the spirit of unrestrained Minor League hyperbole, I'll go ahead and call it the biggest videoboard in the history of videoboards.
  • Thursday, June 9, 2011 | The Ballpark Guide
    Fort Wayne TinCaps - May 27
    I came across one of the neatest features I've seen at any ballpark. Along the first base concourse, there's a batting cage that's used by the players before the game and open to fans during the game.
  • Friday, May 27, 2011 | The Ballpark Guide
    Parkview Field Review
    There's something about Parkview Field that just makes it a perfect venue to watch a ballgame.
  • Friday, February 11, 2011 | My Indiana Home
    Visit Fort Wayne for Year-Round Fun
    Whether you want to be in on the action or cheering from the sideline, Fort Wayne has you covered. Fort Wayne is considered one of the country's best minor league sports markets. Catch a baseball game at Parkview Field, the new downtown home of the Fort Wayne TinCaps - reigning Midwest League champs.
  • Monday, August 10, 2009 | Charlie's Ballparks
    Parkview Field
    By happenstance, I saw my 1000th professional game at Parkview Field, and I couldn't think of too many better places for that event to occur.
  • Wednesday, July 22, 2009 | Ballpark Digest
    Parkview Field / Fort Wayne TinCaps
    In year where Populous opened multiple ballparks -- including the overrated Yankee Stadium and Citi Field, and the underrated Goodyear Ballpark -- Parkview Field is clearly the best of the lot.
  • Tuesday, July 7, 2009 | The Sports Traveler
    Parkview Field, Fort Wayne, IN
    One word. Wow. Parkview Field is probably the nicest facility in single A baseball that I've ever been at. Architecturally, esthetically, and for sheer comfort, Parkview ranks at the top in all areas, if you ask me. I don't think that there is anything I would have done differently if I was designing a ball park. Parkview Field is a jewel, and will be such for many years to come, and I rank it as a "must-visit" for any baseball fan.
  • Thursday, June 18, 2009 | Confessions of a Sports Junkie
    Stadium Guide: Parkview Field
    The stadium has no shortage of picnic areas. Both the first and third base lines have a nice picnic area near the foul poles. They also have a new take on the lawn seating philosophy. They have constructed concrete tiers with grass as a seat. These are not your normal everyday seating in the lawn.
  • Friday, April 17, 2009 | Corey Brinn
    Parkview Field in Pictures
    Scoreboard weighs 41,400 pounds
  • Wednesday, April 15, 2009 | Journal Gazette
    Welcome to Parkview Field
    Anyone who sits in the first row behind home plate is actually closer to the catcher than the pitcher is by 20 feet.
  • Thursday, January 1, 2009 | Leisure Group Travel
    Fort Wayne: Chocolate, Handbags, and Baseball
    Parkview Field, home of minor league baseball's Fort Wayne TinCaps, is the jewel of downtown. The Single-A affiliate of the San Diego Padres draws 400,000 fans a year to the retro-style brick ballpark, one of the most attractive and popular minor league stadiums in the country since it opened in 2009.
  • Thursday, January 1, 2009 | Ballpark Reviews
    Parkview Field
    sightlines are great. In addition to the traditional fold down seats, there are several other area where fans can sit. These include the grassy berms in left field and right field, the Home Run Porch seats in left field (which feature cushioned seats and counters), picnic areas in the right field corner, rooftop seats in right field (available only to groups) and the field boxes along the left field line.